Baltimore to Bourke 2

Baltimore to Bourke 2

Baltimore is known for a beautiful style of applique quilts … this design is on the way to becoming an Australian version of those quilts.

Bourke is a town which is often mentioned when we are talking about the more remote areas of this country … the real outback is back of Bourke!

Still a lot of work needed on the blocks before I would start working on a real version of this virtual quilt. Needs more of our flowers to make an appearance yet. I open up this file very occasionally, and play for a while, but to really become an Aussie version of the Baltimore quilts a lot more detail has to be added.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Quilt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Baltimore to Bourke 2

  1. cahirasnana says:

    This is wonderful, I will look forward to updates as you progress! Did you design/draw up your own birds and animals? Love it

    Claire in Harrington.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

    • Claire,

      Thank you.

      The birds and animals are partly traced from photos, most of them ones I have taken. I am not a great photographer so though I get general shapes I can use, I have to draw in details, and a lot more detail would be needed to suit the Baltimore style. Our native flowers have to be included too, and have some ideas for using them in wreaths which are not quite Baltimore. I have not any plans to actually make the quilt, but will open it up occasionally to try a few more ideas … who knows if I am ever going to be happy with the design, and if I become happy with it, who knows if I will make it!

      Judy B

      Like

  2. cindythequilter says:

    It is all about the fun of doing the design!( and the dreaming of the design)

    Like

    • Cindy,

      It is … I wish I had been able to play with design in real colours etc when I started, instead of having to make blocks ad lay them out on the floor, and try to work out what to do next!

      Judy B

      Like

Comments are closed.