Logs or Leaves 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and Sampler, plus 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10!

Perhaps that should be logs, twigs, sticks or leaves! The curves are created using straight lines with a slight change of angle for with each change of colour. At this point I haven’t tried to work out the best way to piece these blocks, but I suspect most would be happiest with paper piecing by machine, though I think I would prefer hand piecing. At this point in time there are two variations of the basic block, each in two variations of colour use in the project file, and an ever growing collection of designs.

First some basic designs, starting with what would be called Straight Furrows if done with normal Log Cabin blocks.

In the right colours the second one would be called a Pile of Autumn Leaves.

Getting more interesting!

The next design may look like an average design, but it has special significance for me. I started this blog in November 2008, with the idea that I might be able to show a virtual quilt design every day for maybe ten years. I now show two designs two designs six days a week, with five Log Cabin designs in the middle of the week, which means the total number of designs has crept up rather quickly. The design below is virtual quilt design number 12,000, which may not be an exact count, but is close to the mark.

It has taken 15 months to add the last thousand designs.

The design above is the first of the next 1,000.

I would like a better title for this project file … any ideas? They would be welcome!

Normally that would mark the end of this week’s quilter’s mid week retreat, but I thought I would get ahead of the game with another five designs this mid week.

Interesting design above.

Very nice one!

Basic and interesting.

Very nice mix of blocks above.

I have a feeling there are many more interesting ways to use these blocks, and I know there are a heap of the more basic designs to show at some time.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Log Cabin Mid Week Retreat, Log Cabin Quilter's Mid Week Retreat, Logs or Leaves, Quilt and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

You are welcome to add your comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.