Virtual Challenge November 2019

This month I challenge you to draw a flower. It doesn’t have to be complex. The simplest flower you can draw is a circle, or you can use a flower head from an Electric Quilt Library block. Leaves are optional at this point.

Once you have your basic flower head, start playing. I mean really start playing. This project file could keep growing and growing over time, like any healthy garden, and will survive better than a real garden if neglected through droughts or flooding rain or whatever nature throws at your real garden.

The block above started life as a single, but larger circle at the top of a stem, and has grown into a collection of a wide variety of designs, and is still growing, despite periods of neglect. The first were simple crossed designs, and the plant has bred dozens of varieties over several years.

Below is a sampler showing how something very simple can grow into something more complex.

For help in drawing symmetrical designs refer to the Accurate Applique PDF file which you may download.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Virtual Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Virtual Challenge November 2019

  1. Laura says:

    I love all of the examples that you show, Judy! They are wonderful to use as inspiration and a starting point for new EQ users (and even for old-timers, too)! 🙂

    Like

    • Laura,

      Thank you … I am glad you enjoy the inspiration. I find inspiration in lots of different ways, and picking block and quilt designs apart and playing with the pieces is a great way to find new designs. I often go back to older block designs I have drawn and make them into brand new designs, or simply make a small change which adds new life the design.

      I find designing blocks and quilts is a bit like gardening … it is never quite finished, though I do finish some real quilts from time to time!

      Judy B

      Liked by 1 person

  2. All of these would make a lovely album or sampler quilt!

    Like

  3. Toni says:

    Playing catch up again! Thank you – I love the fabrics you choose for this series, reminds me of spring (nearly just around the corner now!!)

    Like

    • Toni,

      Thank you. The best thing about EQ is that it is always here when I have time and the inclination to play. I have way more of the inclination than the time, and keep finding inspiration for new blocks, which of course leads to new quilts.

      Our spring has flown by between cold days and hot days. I was hoping that spring would appear now summer has started, but once again it has been hot and cold, with just a hint of lovely weather occasionally.

      Judy B

      Like

You are welcome to add your comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.