Logs in a Misty Garden 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

In a new project file I coloured some Log Cabin blocks in rather subdued colours, then added some blocks from one of my Floral Cross collection of applique blocks.

I have fallen in love with this idea, and started several projects in different colourways, but I think this is going to be the favourite one.

My two favourite pastimes are combined in these designs … sewing, particularly quilts, and gardening.

No fabric is damaged and my hands don’t get dirty mixing the two hobbies in this way, and most importantly the dirty hands don’t come in contact with the fabric!

The last design has the applique positioned to be on show on the centre of the bed, and the boring bits can hang over the side.

I cannot pick a favourite from this collection … love them all!

That is all for this week’s quilter’s retreat, or more accurately coffee break, but here will be more mid week, next week.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Log Cabin Mid Week Retreat, Log Cabin Quilter's Mid Week Retreat, Logs in a Misty Garden and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Logs in a Misty Garden 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

  1. cindythequilter says:

    I really like 2 and 3. On point designs bring it to life for me.

    Like

    • Cindy,

      Thank you.

      I agree with you. The logs are straight up and down, but the placement of colour makes them look more diagonal, and the applique emphasises the diagonal appearance. Sometimes I try to get that effect, sometimes it just appears when I least expect it!

      Judy B

      Like

You are welcome to add your comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.