Virtual Quilt Challenge July 2020

Electric Quilt will create straight settings for us if when we tell the program we want 3 blocks by 5 blocks, but there is a way to get custom quilt settings based on any block design which uses right angles … just squares and rectangles.

This is an example of a block made up of squares and rectangles,  with no triangles, or any other angles.

Any pieced or applique blocks can be placed in the new setting …they are resized, and shaped, when placed in the design, EQ doing all the hard work for us.

Your challenge this month is to draw some blocks which Electric Quilt can turn into quilt settings for future projects.

Most of the blocks I have drawn for this purpose are not spectacular used as blocks in the normal way, but can make great quilt layouts.

So, start a new project, give it a name, go to Block worktable, and select EasyDraw and start drawing straight lines meeting at right angles.

Blocks can be symmetrical or not, just so long as all angles are right angles.

Have fun!

Once you have the blocks, add some fabrics … next weekend I will show you the block above, not just a coloured block but with borders, but as a quilt layout with some pieced and applique blocks added to it as a quilt setting.

My challenge for the next month is to sort and use some of the blocks I have drawn and have just been sitting around in my Block Library ever since. Over the next few months I plan to start sharing some new project files with custom settings based on some of those block designs.

Then I have another challenge for myself … all the block designs I have drawn so far are symmetrical blocks … I will try drawing a collection of blocks with the squares and rectangles placed any which way I can!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Virtual Challenge, Virtual Quilt Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Virtual Quilt Challenge July 2020

  1. Laura says:

    Looking forward to seeing the new designs, Judy! 🙂

    Like

You are welcome to add your comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.