Patch Play Quilted 14,15

Not sure I like the thread used for the quilting, but have tried quite a few colours and haven’t found the right one yet.

In a real quilt I would use a slightly darker thread in the background colour for feature motifs, and a a thread that matches as exactly as possible for the fillin, which I don’t usually add to my virtual quilts. My favourite fillers are pretty boring as I want the motifs and the pieced or applique blocks to be the feature, with the filler to be boring and a place for the eyes to rest.

When I have finished sorting pieced and applique blocks I might draw up filler quilting designs … cross hatch, straight lines and stippling. For now you will have to imagine the filler, but at least you have a choice of what filler to use!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Patch Play, Patch Play Quilted and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Patch Play Quilted 14,15

  1. cindythequilter says:

    I like the first one today. I agree a just slightly darker color than the background would be great for the motifs with a blending color for the background. I like the motifs in the first one a lot.

    Like

    • Cindy,

      Unfortunately we cannot see the shadows created by virtual quilting like real quilting.

      I like the motifs in the first tow … just the applique designs, which I think is a great way to fill in spaces.

      Judy B

      Like

You are welcome to add your comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.