Outback Banksia Intro

In Electric Quilt 8 we can use Pieced Block Designs as quilt layouts, providing only straight lines forming squares and rectangles are used.

The blocks above are the blocks I have chosen from my collection to use with applique block designs in a project Outback Banksias.

When the block is used as quilt layout the blocks can be drafted to fit the size and shape of the block, but I find that adding teh same block everywhere in the setting is the easiest way to have my first look at what happens when square blocks are used in rectangles.

Most block designs will need to be modified to look their best in different shape blocks, but some blocks sometimes look quite ok when distorted in this way.

In the version above I have redrafted one of the blocks to use in rectangles and recoloured the background fabric.

Time to show you a couple of designs using a collection of blocks featuring one of our Australian native flowers, the Banksia.

Time to share some quilt designs!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Bush Flora Blocks, Outback Banksia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

You are welcome to add your comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.