Desert Flora 5, 6

I love Sturt Desert Peas, but I keep wanting to change the background to green … but am trying to resist because these flowers bloom in the desert! I suspect that I am going to change it one day, as even the desert looks green for a short space of time after rain.

Wish me luck … today I am going to plant some Sturt Desert Pea seeds and am hoping I have inherited my Mum’s green fingers, as she had these come up in a small area of dirt in an old car tyre for many years when I was growing up.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Aussie Applique, Desert Flora and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Desert Flora 5, 6

  1. cindythequilter says:

    I had to go and look up Stuart Desert Peas after reading your post. They are magnificent. What an amazing flower. Apparently difficult to grow at home from what I was reading. I did find an article on tips for growing. This is the link https://www.abc.net.au/local/stories/2015/06/19/4258486.htm I hope you have good luck with yours. Love the designs.

    Like

    • Cindy,

      Thank you for the link … confirms what is on the seed packet. I had forgotten the bit about how long it had to be soaked, so had to hold off for a few days to get them in the ground … more time to think about where exactly to put them!

      Judy B

      Like

You are welcome to add your comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.