Virtual Quilt Challenge May 2020

I have been sorting my virtual blocks … and finding that some of them need some work to make them neater and ready to use, and then naming them and sorting them into appropriate libraries. Along the way I found some new variations of the original blocks, and sometimes completely new blocks.

So, this month select some applique blocks from the Electric Quilt libraries. I would suggest floral blocks … crosses, wreaths and/or bunches of flowers.

Select some of the pieces you like the shape of, and copy and paste them into a new block … add two or three to get started.

Now arrange them into a bunch of flowers, copying shapes as required to fill in spaces. Then try them in a crossed design, then a wreath. Save often … with or without added fabrics or colours.

My inspiration for setting this challenge came from a design/sorting session a few days ago when I looked at the centre of a design I was trying to name, and wondered what would happen if I played with the centre.

I rarely just wonder about these things… I had to play.

I liked it … but what if I keep playing?

A month or so ago I was looking at pictures of coral growing along part of the great Barrier Reef, and thought these shapes looked a bit like some of the coral shapes … so they got named very quickly!

I then decided that I should reunite the new ocean corals to the original garden flowers.

I had fun … and I love results!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Virtual Challenge, Virtual Quilt Challenge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

You are welcome to add your comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.