Desert Peas 3, 4

Happy Australia Day!

Sturt’s Desert Pea is the state flower of South Australia. It is a ground cover which grows to cover wide areas of the desert in Central Australia after infrequent rainfalls. A small patch grew in the in the back yard at Mum’s, but I have not been able to grow them as I have lived in areas with a wide variety of sand and clay soils, but not the right one for these plants.

After a good rain in central Australian desert areas they cover wide areas of seemingly infertile soil with a carpet of pale leaves with bracts of stunning red and black flowers standing above the leaves.

Australia is a land of drought and flooding rain … with quite a few areas of the country living through a flooding period on this Australia Day.

Aussie, Aussie, Aussie, Oi, Oi, Oi!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Aussie Applique, Desert Peas and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

You are welcome to add your comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.