Super Sashing OP 11

Super Sashing OP 11

The sashing in this design is three strips of fabric, two of the block background fabric, one black in the middle.

I have used two sashing squares … the pieced star, and a simple pieced cross … both using the background fabric again so the sashing becomes part of the overall design.

Lots of room for quilting!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Quilt, Super Sashing, Super Sashing OP and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Super Sashing OP 11

  1. Cindy Hamilton says:

    Oh this is really really beautiful! I love the effect of the sashing blending into the background.

    Like

    • Cindy,

      Thank you!

      I rather like it too … and play with the idea a lot … and before I started seriously playing with the idea I made a queen size quilt with the sashing made from the same fabric as the background. Love how the applique a nd pieced sampler blocks floated over the background. It took sometime for me to think about using just s little strip of contrast in the middle of the sashing.

      I realized after that I could have made the background of the blocks bigger for that one. That is what happened when I designed with pencil and paper.

      Judy B

      Like

You are welcome to add your comment

