Lovin’ Spoonful 28

Lovin' Spoonful 28

Love it … one from my favourite project file.

Still love the spoon that started the series, and it is now installed in the kitchen in our new residence!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Lovin' Spoonful, Quilt and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lovin’ Spoonful 28

  1. Rachel Atienza says:

    This is just beautiful. Can I ask a question about the outer border and inner borer designs. Are they embroidery designs, if not how do you get such delicate designs, it does not seem to be applique. The same technique seems to be used in conjunction with the centre motifs. I am really intrighued how you have created this virtual quilt. It would make up into a beautiful bed topper in my opinion! Thanks for sharing. I so enjoy looking at what you post each day.

    Like

    • Rachel,

      Those border designs could be embroidered … though I intended them to be seen as quilting designs. One of those moments when I wish I had thought of that!

      The only other quilting I would bo on these designs is to outline all the applique pieces about an eighth of an inch outside the seam lines. That makes the applique appear to be sitting on top of the quilt top.

      In the last couple of years I have been playing more and more with the layers in Electric Quilt and have used the quilting layer to add quilting motifs. I can also now add applique and embroidery onto the second, applique layer. I have to admit that I prefer to add applique blocks to the pieced layer, and only use the applique layer for embroidery, and when I want to applique something which ignores the block boundaries. And that is a rare occasion, though something I should play with more.

      Judy B

      Like

You are welcome to add your comment

