Cabin Fever Quilting 16, 17, 18, 19, 20

Cabin Fever Quilting 16

I rather like the idea of making a heap of rather bland Log Cabin blocks.

Just add quilting in a strong contrast thread and it would make a reasonable impression!

Cabin Fever Quilting 17

Mind you, adding some blocks with strong contrast in the fabrics still leaves room for the quilting to shine.

Cabin Fever Quilting 18

Perhaps it would be fun to make a pieced back … that way you could get the best of both.

Lining up the back and front would be painstaking though. I think I could manage well enough for the quilting design below, but getting the straight lines perfect is the problem.

Cabin Fever Quilting 19

I rather like that quilting design!

Cabin Fever Quilting 20

At the moment the daily grind is making each day very long, but it still feels like the weeks are flying. The man of the house is retiring within three months, and then we move. My sewing room is closed for quilting, but I still hope to get some mending, alterations, and dressmaking done before it closes completely with everything in boxes … so when I unpack I will be able to quilt, not that other boring stuff.

The best part of shifting will be setting up my full width quilting frame for the first time in over ten years! Quilting in a hoop on a stand is OK, but working at a full width frame is what dreams are made of for this hand quilter!

When that happens every day will be a quilters retreat for me, not just Wednesday, though there are no Log Cabin UFOs in boxes, but I will still have virtual mid week retreats every week as well as the other real quilt retreats!

More Log Cabin designs next week, mid week.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Cabin Fever Quilting, Log Cabin Quilter's Mid Week Retreat, Quilt and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cabin Fever Quilting 16, 17, 18, 19, 20

  1. Laura says:

    With all of the quilting designs that you have come up with, you are going to have a whole lotta fun with your quilting frame!

    Like

    • Laura,

      I am tempted to make setting up the quilt frame the first priority when I get there, but probably should try to find a few pots and pans, towels and sheets before I get too carried away!

      Judy B

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Neat to see the quilting designs and in a few of the quilts, I think they look like butterflies. Congrats on the pending retirement and move!

    Like

    • Jennifer,

      Thank you.

      Not looking forward to the shifting and unpacking, but what happens after that will be fun!

      Mind you, just a few days after we get there I will be leaving for a weekend retreat with quilters!

      Judy B

      Like

  3. Oh you are so going to enjoy having the space to set up your frame. I miss my kids but really appreciated being able to turn the recreation room in the basement into my sewing room. It is so nice to have the space and not to have to put everything away every time I make a meal. I love the quilting designs in these log cabins. They are great!

    Like

    • Cindy,

      I am thinking that I might set up the frame before the removalists unload everything, and before I unpack anything, but I guess we will need some pots, pans, sheets, towels etc before I locate the box with the quilt sandwiches. Then I have to choose which one to start first!

      Judy B

      Like

Comments are closed.