Irish Log Cabin 6

Irish Log Cabin 63

One of the great things about blogging on WordPress is that you can schedule ahead.

One of the worst things about that is that I miss significant dates, because they are a week or more away from the time I schedule my daily blog.

This time it meant that I missed sharing Irish Log Cabin designs during the week of St Patrick’s day … so that means I should share some anytime, and no time like the present!

Irish Log Cabin 64

This project file started one St Pat’s day when it fell on a Wednesday, which is the day of my Mid Week Log Cabin Retreat. The blocks are a combination of Irish Chain and Log Cabin blocks used as they are, but more often than not with some Irish Chain mixed into Log Cabin blocks.

Irish Log Cabin 65

That means that the piecing is all straight seams between squares and rectangles … but there is more of it than the regular Irish Chain and Log Cabin quilts.

Irish Log Cabin 66

Even if you have only been following my daily virtual quilts for more than a few days, you may have noticed that I use a lot of blocks which are modified and mutilated versions of old favourites … this series using two of the best known traditional pieced blocks seemed like the natural thing to do.

Irish Log Cabin 67

My favourite for the day is the one above.

Irish Log Cabin 68

The last one for the day is telling me that it might be fun to play in the project file for a while … just in case I find something interesting to share next March.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Irish Log Cabin, Log Cabin Quilter's Mid Week Retreat, Mid Week Retreat, Quilt and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Irish Log Cabin 6

  1. Lynne Stucke says:

    Still knocking my socks off! Love these!!!

    Like

  2. Marie says:

    I love these as well. No favourites today, too hard to choose. Love the green theme for St Patrick’s tho’.

    Like

  3. I love the “biggest” one in the group shot. The colors and design really appeal to me.

    Like

Comments are closed.