Patchwork Jigsaw 1111 1131

pj-1111-1131-b

I remember my first visit to a quilt exhibition. I was curious, excited … and came away delighted.

The first thing I learned was that my students were doing well, at a standard that would have fitted well in the exhibition. The second thing I learned was that you were allowed to play with block designs.

One of the quilts on display was a sampler quilt using variations of just one block, that block being Drunkard’s Path. Fifteen variations  I think. I didn’t take a camera, so when I got home I tried to draw the blocks in the quilt. I got about twelve.

Then I heard that there was a book about to be published showing variations of the same block. I tried drawing variations again, but on a different piece of paper rather than waste time looking for the first bit of paper! Eventually I got the two bits of paper together, and I had eighteen variations … and some of them were not in the book when it became available.

pj-1111-1131

I have made some of the blocks, and have draw many, many more since, all because of the sampler quilt I saw in that first exhibition. The exhibition was the first exhibition by the Quilter’s Guild of South Australia, the quilt was made by Heather Dunn, who sadly passed away a few days ago. Her funeral service will be held today in Adelaide with quilts currently displayed along one side of the cathedral by another member of the QG of SA.

I only met Heather briefly at a couple of Guild meetings, but one of her early quilts has sent me down a wonderful path of playing with quilt design.

Thank you, and may you rest in peace.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Patchwork Jigsaw, Quilt and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Patchwork Jigsaw 1111 1131

  1. Sorry to hear about the passing of Heather Dunn. It sounds like she was quite innovative and that she inspired you on your journey of quilting and designing.

    Like

    • Cindy,

      Thank you.

      I am a country member of our state guild, and only rarely get to meetings, and rely on exhibition time to catch up with other members. Despite not spending a lot of time with the guild members I have made a lot of great friends, even if I do only see them for a couple of hours a year. Heather lived a minimum two hours, and up to an all day trip away from us, so I rarely saw her, but that Drunkards Path quilt was a big influence on the designing part of my life, and I am glad that i met her on a couple of brief occasions.

      Judy B

      Like

Comments are closed.