9 Patch ‘n’ Apps 7×7 7, 8

9-patch-n-apps-7x7-7

I wish I had thought of faded blocks as part of designs way back when I started … I love them, but only discovered them because of a mistake while playing with Electric Quilt 6.

The background for the centre design created by blocks in the centre is not totally bland, even without quilting, and can be used as the marking for quilting as a bonus.

9-patch-n-apps-7x7-8

By outlining the pieced and quilting designs and adding any one of the blocks designs as the quilting on the blank blocks there would be enough quilting in the second design to hold a quilt together during use, and washing. The wadding available now is usually lightly felted or has a binding agent to hold the fibres in place, and don”t need the amount of quilting which is needed to hold raw cotton in place.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in 9 Patch 'n' Apps, Quilt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 9 Patch ‘n’ Apps 7×7 7, 8

  1. I agree the batting now is much more stable and does not need the close quilting that it used to. Leaves design options wide open now!

    Like

Comments are closed.