A Spoonful of Christmas 6

A Spoonful of Christmas 7.JPG

The Electric Quilt Company celebrated 25 years of business this year.

About the time they started selling Electric Quilt I started playing with quilt design programs.

One seemed to have been written by somebody who knew  what computers could do, but didn’t really understand what quilters could do. The other one appeared to be written by a quilter who didn’t understand what computers could do. Eventually my computer died, and I couldn’t load the old quilt programs into the new one.

I did some research about the current programs, and decided to buy Electric Quilt 5.

I upgraded to Electric Quilt 6 as soon as I found it, and was waiting, waiting waiting, ever so patiently …  for Electric Quilt 7 when they announced it was soon to be released.

Buying EQ5 was the best decision I have made in my real quilting life. I had designed quilts from the time I started classes, simply to help make up the numbers for a friend who was starting to teach a sampler course. A few months later I was replacing her as the teacher!

At that time I spent many hours with pencil and paper trying to draw neat and tidy pattern sheets for students, and even had a book published with pencil and paper patterns.

People would ask me what I was making, and all I could show them were some very rudimentary pencil marks, sometimes with some colour added with colour pencils, but usually just some vague scribbles to show where the dark, medium and light fabrics should go.

Electric Quilt took some learning, but it was great to be able to show people a colour picture of what I was making. In the last couple of years I have been able to draw my blocks with more accuracy than I could two years ago, and I have learned to use the layers to great advantage. It has taken time, but I have got there.

Between now and the end of the year, I will be adding Christmas colours to more virtual quilt designs in keeping with the season, and many of those designs will have quilting designs included.

Some of you may be delighted to get to the next level of a computer game. I am happy to play with virtual quilt designs, and a few times a week I feel like a winner while randomly playing with blocks and layers In EQ7 and finding a design that makes me happy.

Best of all, I can share them with you, every day!

Thank you, thank you, thank you …

to the Electric Quilt Company for providing me with the bestest toy I have ever had!

Best of all, there are still more levels to play with … creating with photos is possibly the next level for me to try! I have dabbled, but some new skills might be needed to to make the most of another EQ7 feature!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Lovin' Spoonful, Quilt and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Spoonful of Christmas 6

  1. We are so glad you enjoy designing quilts too – it’s wonderful to have a new design pop up every day – just like Christmas! Thank YOU!

    Like

  2. Laura says:

    I thank you, too, Judy! It has been fun following your designs, and the thoughts behind them. It has also been fun getting to know you, and a little bit about ‘down under’.

    Like

    • Laura,

      This is a great way to make virtual friends … and some of you have become friends even though I will probably never meet you face to face.

      My son told me once that you can hide your identity, and even your face, on the internet, but you can’t hide personality. I have virtually met some wonderful personalities! Thank you for boing one of them!

      Judy B

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Cindy Hamilton says:

    It truly is like getting a gift every day. Your designs are the best and it is a highlight when I get to check my emails (sometimes after a week) and get a whole batch at once. I have enjoyed getting to “know” you and others through the internet.

    Like

You are welcome to add your comment

