Log Cabin Quilting 11, 12, 13, 14, 15

log-cabin-quilting-11

Is it just me or are Wednesdays seem to be getting closer together? And weekends are getting further apart!

This weeks Log Cabin quilts are not in the most inspiring colours, but I was concentrating on the quilting designs … not the colours.

log-cabin-quilting-12

With so many seam lines it is easy to just quilt the logs … or just do an all over design ignoring the seams altogether.

log-cabin-quilting-13

However, when I look at Log Cabin quilts I see light areas which will show up the quilting beautifully, and dark areas which just need quilting to hold the three layers together.

log-cabin-quilting-14

I can see that I need to edit the quilting designs in this project files, but as there are just twenty quilt designs I will do that in another project file.

log-cabin-quilting-15

The last one is my favourite for the day.

Today I have another question to see if I can find an answer for … will the ScanNCut just add seam allowances to all sides of a piece, which is fine for pieced blocks and needleturn applique, but when fusing we just need the seam allowances on the sides which will be under the adjacent piece. Might have to spend more time with the manual rather than playing with the real thing!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Log Cabin Quilter's Mid Week Retreat, Log Cabin Quilting, Quilt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Log Cabin Quilting 11, 12, 13, 14, 15

  1. Marie says:

    When in doubt, read the instructions! I like today’s selection. The little bits of extra quilting set the design off.

    Like

    • Marie,

      I love a good manual, but didn’t get to read it yesterday. The weather was fine so spent too much time in the garden. Must spend time with it today, as will miss playing with it on the planned weekend trip.

      Love those little bits of quilting mixed with the Log Cabin grid.

      Judy B

      Like

You are welcome to add your comment

