Less Logs in the Cabin 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60

May I present

Virtual Quilt No 6,000!

less-logs-in-the-cabin-51

Well, No 6,000 if I have allowed enough for a few repeats, some not quite original, etc …

Certainly an interesting design to mark the occasion, chosen simply because when I did the sums and worked out the milestone would be reached on a Mid Week Log Cabin Retreat I simply chose my favourite Log Cabin Project file, and the design above was the next in the collection waiting to be shared.

less-logs-in-the-cabin-51

I have been going back through early project files to add a quilting layer to the designs and have realised that my designs have changed for the better, while still being traditional in style.

less-logs-in-the-cabin-52

I certainly tweak the placement of colours within the traditional pieces, and I have designed many new blocks … but still think of the designs as practical items to keep people warm at night, with just the occasional foray into placemats, table runners and wallhangings.

less-logs-in-the-cabin-53

I like seeing a bed made up with a real quilt rather than a doona, and even love seeing an unmade bed after somebody has slept in it … or two somebodies in the case of wider beds … but only if it has a real quilt on it.

less-logs-in-the-cabin-54

I make quilts to be used, slept under, and eventually worn out.

Hopefully those who sleep  under them appreciate the colours and design, but even an ugly quilt can provide warmth, so if I don’t get the design quite right, it is not a big deal … it will still work.

less-logs-in-the-cabin-55

So, with all the virtual designs I have to chose from, what is sitting next to the sewing machine at the moment?

less-logs-in-the-cabin-56

There is a cardboard box of pieces cut from a collection of well worn windcheaters cut into random sizes, avoiding the worst stains and the holes.

less-logs-in-the-cabin-57

They are slowly coming together to make a cuddle rug for my late sister-in-law’s granddaughter, who asked me if I could do something for her in memory of her Nan.

There will be enough leftovers to make something for her two children, and something for her Pop too.

They will not be quilted, and will not be especially warm as Rosie worked hard and wore her clothes until they became rags, and not pretty either, as they are the clothes of somebody who was too practical to have a wardrobe full of pretty clothes.

Couldn’t be further away from my virtual designs, but they will be a practical memory of a very practical person!

less-logs-in-the-cabin-59

I have another similar project coming up … using my son’s work clothes from nearly twenty years in the same place, but which will be closing late next year. He just wants a raggy rug to throw over the lounge.

less-logs-in-the-cabin-60

Then I will be more than ready to start a new applique project using my new toy to cut out pieces designed in my old toy.

I have just started learning to use the new toy, but still have lots to learn in the old toy, and keeping this blog going is incentive to keep playing, and challenging myself … and I have enough project files and designs I haven’t shared yet to take time out to make real quilts too … and still keep the virtual designs coming!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Less Logs in the Cabin, Log Cabin Quilter's Mid Week Retreat, Mid Week Retreat, Quilt and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Less Logs in the Cabin 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60

  1. Laura says:

    Love that you are making memory quilts from clothing scraps! Rosie’s clothes sound like mine…worn until worn out.
    Congratulations on reaching a virtual quilt milestone…6,000…wow!

    Like

  2. Marie says:

    6000! Good onya Judy. I love this selection of Log Cabins. I too have made 3 quilts from kids clothes. At first it was a bit hard cutting up clothes, because years ago we passed most of our clothes from one child to the next, or another family. Actually one now is like in memory of, because our little granddaughter has passed away……………

    Like

You are welcome to add your comment

