Ann’s Album Q’n’A 1

anns-albvum-q-n-a-1

I have been busy quilting, virtually!

In the process I have redrawn blocks, modified some, made them into quilting motifs … and used them to design some quilts.

Ann’s Album started as a series of designs using a limited number of block designs, with sashing which varied in width from half an inch to two inches … but not all the sashing was made of a contrasting fabric. Sort of the sashing you use when you don’t use sashing, as it separates the blocks, allows me to use contrast sashing squares if i want to, and by making some in contrast fabric and some in the same as the block background I can outline assorted combinations of blocks to make a quilt appear much more complex than it is.

******************

I think I am pretty good at making virtual and real quilts … not the best, not the worst, but somewhere in between … depending on the day. I can remember the one day nearly 30 years ago when I thought I should give up because I would never be as good as one of the members of our state guild. I didn’t, and I don’t think i have reached her standard yet, but I am having a ball trying.

The Bitchy Stitcher has some wise words for the days you want to give up

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Anns Album, Quilt and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ann’s Album Q’n’A 1

  1. Cindy Hamilton says:

    Very lovely quilt. I read the article you had linked to and it truly expresses wise words indeed. We all need to do this because we love doing it and because it fulfills something in us. We should feel good about what we accomplish.

    Like

    • Cindy,

      We are our own worst enemies.

      A postscript to that day I wanted to give up … I met the lady one day at an exhibition, and she showed me her quilt, then asked where mine was. I had hand quilted on cream fabric with black thread, and knew there was a very long stick just near her right shoulder when she told me she wasn’t brave enough to use such a strong contrast!

      Judy B

      Like

You are welcome to add your comment

