Anns Album 56

anns-album-56

I have lots of virtual quilts in this project file, but none of them are virtually quilted yet … new project file coming up!

An update on me and my ScanNCut … we are going through the motions. Not cutting, just trying to instill the clicks I have to make to get it to cut without having to hold the manual, or even having it open to the page!

I found that just designing a quilt in EQ and then going away and making that quilt was not a great learning curve. I was already designing all the applique blocks I was using, and a lot of the pieced blocks, so learning how to add those to the program was essential early on. It was slow at first, but I can now concentrate on the drawing without thinking about the buttons I need to press to get things to happen.

I want to learn to use my new toy well enough so I can concentrate on fabric choices rather than what I have to do with the stylus to cut the fabric, and remember how to do when I want to cut out he next quilt. The next quilt will always be some time well into the future for me, because I prefer hand work. I am starting to think that I might have to sort out some fabric for charity quilts for others to make (with simpler applique than I would do).

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Anns Album, Quilt and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Anns Album 56

  1. Cindy Hamilton says:

    I agree that designing a quilt and then going to make it before designing another makes for a much longer learning curve. I seem to forget almost everything that I learned while designing the first and have to start all over again. It is like the saying goes that you have to hear something 7 times before it actually sinks in and you remember it. I think I have to “do” things in EQ many times in a row for it to “sink in” to my memory.

    Like

    • Cindy,

      I just thought back to my two kids learning to walk … they both took their first steps, and when they realized what they have done, they tried again … and again. Both of them walked across a room before they gave up for that play session, but kept trying it again and again through the day, and had enough energy to show off to Dad when he got home from work.

      Judy B

      Like

You are welcome to add your comment

