Q and A Iron Lace 4

q-and-a-iron-lace-4

Just trying to use the last design in a project file … but added one more for later in the process.

About the new toy … I plan on spending a minimum of 15 minutes a day playing with ScanNCut.

I advise everyone who buys Electric Quilt to practice daily until they are comfortable and fluent with the processes to carry out tasks. With the ScanNCut it is difficult to hold the manual in one hand, the stylus in the other while trying to feed the cutting mat into the machine … the latter part of that exercise takes two more hands I can’t find in my sewing room! (Probably the extra pair of hands are busy hiding the scissors I just put down!)

I need to follow my own advice … and today’s virtual quilt is a good example of the type of cutting out I want ScanNCut to do for me.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Q and A Iron Lace, Quilt and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Q and A Iron Lace 4

  1. Laura says:

    I love this one! Iron and Lace is the perfect title for it!

    Like

  2. Cindy Hamilton says:

    I absolutely love this colorway as well. Absolutely fabulous and I can definitely see why you want the scan and cut for cutting out the design.

    Like

    • Cindy,

      I was very tempted to buy the ScanNCut when they first came on the market, but thought it might be an idea to hold off for a while. Like EQ it has a lot of features which I want to learn to use, so am trying to fit in some playtime every day … not actually cutting a lot, but moving things around, changing sizes and layouts.

      The feature I like best so far is that I can place some scraps on the cutting mat, scan them, and add the shapes I want cut out of each of the fabrics in the right place so that each scrap can be used to best advantage!

      I can even fussy cut … well, I WILL be able to fussy cut!

      The thing I like least is the fact that I don’t have a space to use the computer next to the cutter, but the plus there is that I might get some exercise going from one to the other with a USB stick in my hand! I don’t think I can call that weight training though!

      Judy B

      Like

  3. pilgrim313 says:

    your Scan N Cut will cut that out without a problem. I’ve had one for a little over a year and they are amazing. A word of advice, HeatNBond light works great! Iron your fabric first, and even give it a spritz of sizing or starch….then your cut will be sharp. Practice on a scrap first! Have your blade deep enough to cut (fabric and heatnbond) but not deep enough to score the mat too hard.
    I have EQ also but just can’t seem to find the time to play in it….I really should because it does so much. Great work!

    Like

    • Carole,

      Thank you for some sound advice … I have already cut the mat once … hope to have learned from that experience! I am cutting just a little piece at a time to minimise damage, and am making a list of replacement items and other accessories I will need, starting with a spare mat or two.

      I am practising setting up for multiple cuts as well, even though I am not using them yet. I can do that quickly in EQ7, but I still have to think each step. I also have the machine set up somewhere I can leave it so I don’t have to spend time setting it up every time I want to practice … or really cut for a new project.

      Hope you find time, or just borrow a bit from some other activites so you can practice with EQ7 … I am still learning after all these years.

      Judy B

      Virtual Quilter https://virtualquilter.wordpress.com

      Like

  4. Kay Dungavell says:

    I also can’ find the time to play with EQ. and I envy you your Scan n cut. But I am sure I wouldn’t find the time to play with it either. – How can I fi8nd more time??

    Like

    • Kay,

      How to find more time? Going without sleep isn’t an option, though not doing the vacuuming so often is justified!

      I am considering telling everyone I am going away, then locking the doors, keeping the blinds down … but suspect I would have to sneak outside sometimes with a coffee, to water plants, to check the letterbox, bring in the bins … it seems that everyone is doing their best to interrupt me as often as possible since I got the new toy!

      Judy B

      Like

Comments are closed.