Baltimore to Bourke 2

Baltimore to Bourke 2

Ages ago I started on a long journey, trying to design a Baltimore style quilt for Australian conditions. I lost enthusiasm, or life just got in the way, until recently, when I stared playing in this project file again.

I did do an Australia Day variation too, but that wasn’t quite what the picture in my head was looking like.

Still a long way to go, but sooner or later, Australian icons will start appearing amongst the blocks … and eventually will take over the whole quilt!

Sounds like a plan, but I still have to get away from Baltimore before I can start on a long trip outback to Bourke. Hopefully it won’t be three years before I open the project file again.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Baltimore to Burke, Quilt and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Baltimore to Bourke 2

  1. Laura says:

    Love your applique blocks!

    Like

    • Laura,

      Thank you. This project file is going to be a long term project … I want to try to make some of our weird and wonderful native flowers fit the Baltimore style, but the real challenge will be making a house from the outback fit the baltimore theme! I enjoy this sort of virtual challenge!

      Judy B

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is amazing. I can’t wait to see more of your work.

    Like

  3. cindythequilter says:

    This would definitely be a very long term project! But what an heirloom.

    Like

    • Cindy,

      To be honest, this is a virtual quilt series which just may lead to a real quilt … but there is still a way to go before I get to a starting point. There are things I want to include which haven’t reached anything like I am thinking. Trying to get the pictures out my head and into the virtual world, and then to the real thing, is proving to be a long process.

      Judy B

      Like

Comments are closed.