Log Cabin Leaf Central 13, 14, 15, 16

These are the last of the first designs in Leaf Central … I was playing with the Symmetry tool, which twists and turns all the blocks in a quilt design with just one click of the button.

You get series of designs with blocks rotated in a limited number of settings, with directional blocks forming the same design facing different directions… my only real input was changing the leaves.

Then I started playing my way … more of that next week, mid week, in the virtual Log Cabin Retreat.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Leaf Central, Log Cabin Quilter's Mid Week Retreat, Mid Week Retreat, Quilt, Symmetry Tool and Log Cabin and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Log Cabin Leaf Central 13, 14, 15, 16

  1. deequilter says:

    Gday there. I think I have worked out, finally, how to make a comment on WordPress blogs. So here goes. Madness really cause if it doesn’t work, I’ve been talking to myself again. Oh well, nothing unusual there, eh?
    Now. You know I’m not really fond of log cabin quilts, but I find this design very appealing. The idea of the logs and the leaves together is really nice. And the way you have put the two together makes me think of individual allotments.
    Cheers
    D.

    Like

  2. deequilter says:

    Yaaaaaaa!
    Bloody beauwdy mate!

    Like

  3. Laura says:

    Once again, you have found a way for me to like the log cabin block! Fall is my favorite time of the year…these designs have happy memories of colorful leaves blowing in the breeze…and lots of fun jumping into piles of leaves, too!

    Like

    • Laura,

      I have only rarely had the chance to jump onto a pile of autumn leaves … most of our trees are evergreen … as we have never lived in an area with masses of trees which dump their leaves for our pleasure! I do love the few trees which do change colour and lose their leaves though!

      Judy B

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Marie says:

    I like them. They certainly look different with the appliqued leaves. And so many designs to choose from.

    Like

  5. cindythequilter says:

    And they don’t have to be appliqued leaves. You could paper piece a leaf and then built the log cabin around it. I like these and the symmetry tool is amazing. I find if you keep clicking it though you always end up at the same spot no matter which way the blocks were facing when you start.

    Like

    • Cindy,

      Yes, the symmetry tool is limited to turning the blocks in a set pattern of designs … useful in that I sometimes find ideas which I wouldn’t otherwise find, but find it more interesting to see what happens if I have already twisted and turned a few blocks.

      No fun if the blocks are all symmetrical to start with though!

      Judy B

      Like

  6. Pingback: Log Cabin Leaf Central 17, 18, 19, 20 | Virtual Quilter

Comments are closed.