Log Heap 11, 12, 13, 14, 15

Log Heap 11

Middle of another week already … must remember to get my hair cut.

Log Heap 12

This series started when I thought I had too many designs in a project file. This project file has 263 designs waiting for their day on view.

Log Heap 13

I wish I had changed the fabric choices, but there are too many designs to go through now, and if I did go through them I would finish up with way too many designs in the project file. I will keep them as they are and bring some of them out occasionally to remind me, and you, just what you can do with just three differently coloured Log Cabin blocks.

Log Heap 14

The three blocks are a traditional coloured block with half of the strips light, half dark, so there are two triangles joined with a jagged edge, one with just the light fabrics, one with just the dark fabrics.

Log Heap 15

I don’t think the world of quilters have any other block which can be used in an endless collection of designs … then we can change the colours, and even where we place the colours in the blocks, then we have Courthouse Steps which is pieced in a slightly different order, and Curved Log Cabins.

I have to admit that with all the possible designs out there I still love Barnraising, but will never make one. There are too many possible designs to limit my choice to one while still making a very traditional style quilt.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Log Cabin Quilter's Mid Week Retreat, Log Heap, Mid Week Retreat, Quilt and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Log Heap 11, 12, 13, 14, 15

  1. Marie says:

    To the people who think that Log Cabin is boring, I believe it is the colours and the choice of material that make a stunning quilt. And as you have, and are showing us, endless of possibilities of designs.

    Like

  2. Joanne S says:

    Never thought about how color would change up a log cabin quilt. Sometimes I can be so thick minded. Got to try this!

    Like

    • Joanne,

      Colour, and where it is placed in a block, is the fun part of making quilts … but it is really the contrast between light and ark, and the shades between, which makes the quilt design come together.

      Judy B

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.