Annie Clover and Pieces 23

Annie Clover and Pieces 23

Like it!

Little bit of piecing … I prefer applique, but sometimes a pieced block or two is just what you need. Sometimes you need a whole pieced quilt, but I don’t like sitting at the sewing machine that much, and just stitching straight lines makes it more boring.

(My machine has two speeds, stop and flat out … not great for intricate little pieces or complex applique! Yes, like most modern machines it has a slow button, but I just want to get the machine work done as quickly as possible.)

My favourite method of applique is fused and hand stitched, buttonhole stitch preferably, sometimes with contrast thread but more often with a matching thread so that it is pretty much invisible, even when I use hand quilting thread.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Annie Clover Pieces, Quilt and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Annie Clover and Pieces 23

  1. Laura says:

    I love this design, Judy! I also found it interesting, that after all these years of seeing your many posted designs, that you much prefer fused and hand stitched applique. Some of your designs have been very intricate, too…both pieced and applique. Hmmm…seems like I should have guessed your preference by now. Ha, ha!

    Like

    • Laura,

      I have managed to keep that information to surprise you with! Usually I think I usually just say I prefer applique. I also still have a soft spot for hand piecing, but all that hand work makes for slow quilts, so sometimes I break out the machine and scare the poor dust bunnies.

      Judy B

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.