Log Cabin Leaf Central 9, 10, 11, 12

Log Cabin Leaf Central 9

I like it!

Lesson learned very quickly with this series … using a motif which is directional means that you need to change directions when used with other design element which are also directional.

If the designs were all just circles I would only need to have one block for each circle, but when I twist the designs above around a bit, the leaves often finish up facing the wrong way. Like those below. I do actually like the way it all looks, but I really prefer symmetrical designs.

Log Cabin Leaf Central 10

I think the reason I like the asymmetrical design above is because all the Log Cabin blocks use the same fabrics … this is not something I would like in scraps.

Log Cabin Leaf Central 11

The one above is much more orderly and more to my taste.

Log Cabin Leaf Central 12

Finally another asymmetrical design … and again I sort of like it!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Log Cabin Leaf Central, Log Cabin Quilter's Mid Week Retreat, Quilt and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Log Cabin Leaf Central 9, 10, 11, 12

  1. Laura says:

    I like that 2nd design…the leaves are wind-blown and scattered. 🙂

    Like

    • Laura,

      Thank you.

      Leaves, and whole trees, are windblown and scattered around the southern part of South Australia … and now the winter weather has moved to Victoria. (Most of our trees are evergreen, but they have been battered over the last few days.) I selected the designs for this week before I knew what the weather was going to be like, so perhaps I should go into forecasting!

      Judy B

      Liked by 1 person

  2. catdownunder says:

    There are more leaves here if you need them! Seriously, I really like those!

    Like

  3. Marie says:

    I like these. Even with the appliqued leaves! We too, have been having some wild and windy and wet weather, more than usual. More time for the sewing room when it’s raining. I agree with the colour choice, using the same fabrics, not scrappy on these designs.

    Like

    • Marie,

      I have put in an order for rain after we arrive at the accommodation centre, and it has to stop early on the Monday. What do you think our chances are?

      Judy B

      Like

  4. cindythequilter says:

    I actually like the asymmetrical designs the most. This is a wonderful series that eould be great for quilts of valour.

    Like

  5. cindythequilter says:

    After our quilt show in the fall I will be able to start working on quilts of valor. If and when I get one finished I will definitely send you a picture.

    Like

Comments are closed.