Anita’s Q’n’A 1, 2, 3

Anita's Q'n'A 1

It has been a while since I introduced a new series, but I found this lot amongst in a project file which I started to modify applique blocks from the Electric Quilt block library so I could use them as quilting designs. In the process I have added many variations of each parent block to my collection as well.

During the first five years as a virtual quilter I added very little quilting to the designs I shared, but when I start a new series now it starts with quilting from the first day. It will be more fun when I have as many quilting designs in My Library as I have pieced and applique blocks  … and can find them.

I have been spending time not just turning designs into quilting designs, but tidying up my library filing system as well. I have also learned to put new things into the library, and if necessary, take out older and rougher versions too.

Perhaps casual visitors would be more impressed if the kitchen table was cleared of stuff, but at least I am impressed when I go looking for something to play with for a new series of virtual quilts.

Anita's Q'n'A 2

The first designs in a new series are usually just feeling my way … the sort of thing I used to do with pencil and paper … before I even thought of getting out the colour pencils.

Anita's Q'n'A 3

I like the first one, and apart from adding colour to the borders it is pretty much as I saved it when I got bored with redrawing blocks, then turning the designs into quilting stencils.

The best part of sharing these three designs is that I have only two in reserve, which means sometime in the near future I will just have to find time to play with these blocks to create more designs!

The things I do just for you!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Anita's Q'n'A, Quilt and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.