Beaded Blocks and Borders Batik 20

Beaded Blocks and Borders Batik 20

Love it!

Batik fabrics are perfect for the ‘beads’ in these designs … the changing colours are gentler than in most prints and add dimension to the beads. Hand dyes are also great.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Beaded Blocks and Borders, Quilt and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Beaded Blocks and Borders Batik 20

  1. Cherie Lumsden says:

    just out of interest how many beads does EQ say you need?
    I love the “beaded” quilts you post but, think it would take more life than I have left(grin)

    Like

    • Cherie,

      Doing them the way they were done in the 1930s when they first became popular, they would have been a long project, but with fusibles, and cutting up to four at a time … much less time consuming, even if stitched by hand, and machine applique is very feasible and relatively fast. A comment below yours is from a girl who doesn’t do applique, but she has made a String of Beads.

      Number for the blocks … 850!

      Judy B

      Like

  2. Marie says:

    I thoroughly enjoyed making my last “beaded” quilt. I did have many scraps, a lot of which I had cut out 2″ squares after each project, and I also had the luxary of having samples from a quilt shop. I love this design too.

    Like

  3. cindythequilter says:

    I love this one as well. I think this will be a project I take to Mexico for holidays and will be hand appliqued. Would be a way to while away the evenings as we are not party people but it still will not keep me from the beach!

    Like

    • Cindy,

      I have made both hand and machine String of Beads projects, and loved doing the hand work … not so much the machine, though choice of stitch for the applique was wrong for one of the machine projects. In future would always use a zigzag stitch rather than buttonhole or similar. Hand work I fuse and buttonhole.

      Judy B

      Like

Comments are closed.