Framed by Logs OP 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10

Today I am showing you several different frames which could be used as frames around pretty much any combination of Log Cabin blocks which you want to set on point.

Sometime in the not too distant future I will start sharing a series in which the designs have a central feature and a surrounding frame. Simple concept, but there are some rather interesting designs to come … and the collection of just frames will possibly be added to as well.

These layouts are already framed, but with a blank canvas in the frames.

(PS. I have already added another five frames to this collection … and the framed designs in the next series number several hundred. Lots of Mid Week Retreats covered by just one project file!)

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Framed by Logs, Log Cabin Quilter's Mid Week Retreat, Mid Week Retreat, Quilt and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Framed by Logs OP 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10

  1. Laura says:

    What an interesting concept! I never thought of log cabin blocks as frames.

    Like

    • Laura,

      The nearest I have seen in real quilts are just repeat Log Cabin blocks used as a border around a quilt … but one day noticed that a lot of my Log Cabin designs were framed quite well as part of the design, and decided to try isolating the ‘frame’ in one of the project files.

      Judy B

      Liked by 1 person

  2. These are so cool! Would be great for a signature quilt or if you put a picture in the middle!

    Like

    • Jennifer,

      I have just used them around virtual Log Cabin designs, but taking away the centre part of the design leaves a blank canvas. All light Log Cabin blocks with applique, just quilt the space, a sampler quilt, embroidered blocks, and a signature quilt, large picture block or just a large panel, or a small one with another border added, even the outer border of a medallion quilt.

      (I was going to stop when I added your two ideas, but then thought of another couple of ideas and modifications… lots of ways to fill that blank canvas.)

      Judy B

      Like

  3. Marie says:

    Who would have thought. Log Cabin as frames, or outer borders? I like them. And they too, seem to be endless.

    Like

  4. cindythequilter says:

    Fabulous idea. I can see some major applique on this “blank canvas” or even a “whole cloth” design. Can hardly wait to see more frames. I can definitely see this appearing in some of my quilts.

    Like

    • Cindy,

      I lifted the border/frame from some of the Log Cabin designs, sometimes making a few tweaks to make it independent enough to make the rest of the quilt a blank canvas.

      I see a new project file appearing in my EQ files sometime in the future!

      Judy B

      Like

Comments are closed.