Jack’s Block

Jack's Block

This is Jack’s Block.

Not the most inspiring block in my collection.

Jack's Block 2

Doesn’t come together really well as a quilt, though it could be improved by adding sashing, changing colours …. Jack's Block Quilt Layout

However, because it is all straight seams … no diagonals or curves … Electric Quilt allows me to use it as a quilt layout without having to do anything but click a couple of buttons.Jack's Block Quilt Layout Coloured

Add some borders and we have a quilt top, but there is lots of room for improvement!

Jack's Block Quilt 1

Just add some applique blocks.

Jack's Block Quilt 2

Just one applique block repeated in different sizes makes a very interesting quilt design!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Jack's Block, Quilt and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Jack’s Block

  1. billiemick says:

    Love the greens the best….great design.

    Like

  2. Kat Scribner says:

    Well, I think they’re all great! I never think to use that option of make block into quilt. I could make #2, #3 & #5 !!

    Like

    • Kat,

      I keep forgetting a lot of the features I have at my fingertips while i try to master others. I have kept putting this one on the backburner, but just recently I have started to play, and enjoy what it can do. The best times are when I surprise myself with a stunning design.

      Judy B

      Like

  3. Laura says:

    This makes me look at blocks in a new way! More fun! I wish I didn’t have to sleep, then I’d have more hours in a day!

    Like

    • Laura,

      I would like to do without sleep, shopping (well, for groceries and clothes) cleaning … all the drudgery … and just play with virtual and real quilts. Even playing with the stash is fun!

      Judy B

      Like

  4. Cherie Lumsden says:

    It’s all in the layout and what you can do with it.
    One of my most successful patterns was a child’s quilt called Flowerpot. I can’t tell you how many times it has been made within my group but, not using the pattern applique.
    Some layouts just lend themselves to lot’s of quilts and this is one of them.

    Like

    • Cherie,

      The best part is that drawing a pieced block in Electric Quilt is much easier than drawing a custom quilt design. Then EQ does the work of drawing the quilt design from the block. Makes auditing quilt blocks as quilt layouts easy and quick!

      Judy B

      Like

  5. cindythequilter says:

    Totally new way to look at blocks. Your imagination never ceases to amaze me.

    Like

Comments are closed.