Lovin’ Spoonful 22

Lovin' Spoonful 22

Love it!

Today is ANZAC Day in Australia and New Zealand, the day we pay tribute to our military personnel … remembering the many who gave up their lives in combat.

I have a collection of assorted cutlery rather than a cutlery set, and included in the collection are a couple of teaspoons with a rising sun emblem punched onto the handle.

One of them has some filed serrations on one side of the bowl, perhaps so that the spoon could be used to cut food. I do not know the significance of these spoons, but I do know that the previous owner was a Digger, or Australian soldier for those not from Australia or New Zealand, in the Second World War. Today I remember him, and all his comrades in arms, and say thank you guys, I appreciate your service to our countries.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Lovin' Spoonful, Quilt and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lovin’ Spoonful 22

  1. catdownunder says:

    Yes, thank you. That’s a lovely design to remember them by.

    Like

    • Cat,

      Thank you.

      I would love to know more about the spoon with the serrated edge, as I think the previous owner may have been a prisoner of war for a short time. I think I will ask some questions at the National War Memorial.

      Judy B

      Like

  2. cindythequilter says:

    As I have a son currently in the Canadian Armed Forces I definitely appreciate the service that they provide and have provided in the past. Love the quilting in the design and how it frames and/or accents the applique.

    Like

Comments are closed.