Cornerstones + Extras 76, 77, 78, 79, 80

Cornerstones + Extras 76

If five friends got together to make quilts using the Cornerstone Log Cabin block they could all make some little tweaks to make their own original design.

Cornerstones + Extras 77

If they all used the same fabrics it would be quite an exercise to note the changes.

Cornerstones + Extras 78

At times you have to take note of just how many of those little touches of white are used.

Cornerstones + Extras 79

Sometimes the tweaks could be in the corners.

Cornerstones + Extras 80

But in that group of five at least one would do something totally different.

I hope that most of the time I would be that one!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Chimneys and Cornerstones, Cornerstones, Log Cabin Quilter's Mid Week Retreat, Log Cabin Quilts, Mid Week Retreat, Quilt and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cornerstones + Extras 76, 77, 78, 79, 80

  1. Marie says:

    I like them. The cornerstone pieces certainly add a new dimension to Log Cabin blocks. And so many ideas! I wonder if anyone from the Retreat will pick up on your tweak idea?

    Like

    • Marie,

      Some do tweak patterns a bit, though it is not as easy for those who don’t have EQ or similar program. The Golden Harvest Quilters did a presentation at the filed days quite a few years ago where we tried to show how to tweak patterns by moving blocks pinned to cardboard around on a stand one of the hubbies made for the occasion. (Before we learned about design walls!) It sort of worked, and we moved blocks around to show about five versions of a 16 block Log Cabin design. I still have the words and pictures we used on the day, but it increased my interest in tweaking designs by heaps.

      Now I could do that presentation with a computer and large screen without the cast of thousands we needed then to move blocks around and hold up real quilts to keep the audience amused while the blocks moved!

      Judy B

      On 3 March 2016 at 06:53, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.