Sea Link Star Intro

Sea Link Star Blocks

 

Another EQ6 Project file … this time I selected some blocks which looked like they would fit together nicely. Turns out that they didn’t fit together really well at all.

So, I did some redrafting, changing the blocks to just one grid, but using the features of each block design on the new grid.

Sea Link Star Sampler

The blocks certainly look different on their new grid and in their new coordinating colours.

I found quite a few variations too. Most are changes to where I used the colours, but in some I eliminated some of the seam lines as well.

Then I thought about quilting … and decided to do something different, very different for me anyway.

Sea Link Star Quilting Motif 1

I would use an all over quilting design , but with a difference. I would use  just the one pieced block design as the quilting design, not an unrelated design. And I will use it in every quilt design in the series.

Sea Link Star A

Also note that I have eliminated the ditch stitching around the blocks. I want the blocks to be an all over design … not separate blocks.

The reason I went back to EQ6 … I lost access to EQ7 due to upgrading to Windows 10 without first deactivating EQ7 … followed by security working all too well! I was also distracted by real life being disrupted by Christmas, New Year, visiting, holidays, along with washing clothes, dishes, floors etc and all the other things which intrude into my virtual world from time to time.

EQ7 is now accessible again, but I have learned a few things I had forgotten about EQ6. It really was a good program … lacking the precision drawing tools I love, and now rely on to get accurate applique and quilting block designs in EQ7.

 

 

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in All Pieced, Quilt, Sea Link Star and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sea Link Star Intro

  1. Love the quilting design you are going to use for the series, and it is very inspiring too! I frequently find myself thinking… how do I quilt this…. now I have somewhere to start, thank you!

    Like

    • Rhona,

      Now I know how to shortcut adding the third layer to my virtual designs I am frantically adding quilting to old project files, as well as new ones, so I hope that you find more ideas for quilting designs.

      Judy B

      On 11 February 2016 at 11:20, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. Laura says:

    Love, love, love! I wish I had seen this before I started quilting my red and white quilt!!!!!!!

    Like

    • Laura,

      Sorry, I thought of it only a few days ago … but it will be interesting to see how the project file looks as more pieces are added but always with that same quilting design.

      Judy B

      On 11 February 2016 at 12:40, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.