Logs on the Road 26, 27, 28, 29, 30

Logs on the Road 26

Two weeks ago I asked if visitors could pick the thing which remained the same in all five of the designs I  shared that day, apart from the fabrics.

Logs on the Road 27

Visitors found some things which escaped my inspection of the designs, but I was concentrating on something in particular.

Logs on the Road 28

I was counting blocks.

There are 64 blocks in each design.

That is easy enough to get right, as are some of the other similarities others spotted … all the borders are identical, all the strips are the same width, all the centre same the same colour.

Logs on the Road 29

But nobody got what I was counting.

Each of the designs use

four all dark blocks,

28 half light, half dark blocks,

and

32 all light blocks.

Logs on the Road 30

In fact, it is not just every one of those five designs which have that same collection of blocks … it is every design in the series … and I have only shared half of them yet.

Which means I still have time before I run out of designs to play and maybe find some more variations.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Log Cabin Quilter's Mid Week Retreat, Log Cabin Quilts, Logs on the Road, Mid Week Retreat, Quilt and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Logs on the Road 26, 27, 28, 29, 30

  1. castlecrafts says:

    Hi there I love this selection, and it would have taken me quite a while to figure out that you have used the same proportion of darks, halves and lights!

    Would you allow me to print out some of your log cabin designs to illustrate what you can do with the log cabin block, for my City and Guilds Diploma Level course? I won’t be making them, and no-one else will be allowed to use them – it is purely to show how versatile the block is. You would be given full credit as the designer, and the site would be referenced in the bibliography that has to accompany the short essay.

    I will be making sample blocks of log cabins, but mainly to show the difference between hand and machine stitching, scissor cutting, ripping (manx log cabin) and precision cutting.

    Rhona Thomson Alexandria Scotland

    Like

    • Rhona,

      You are welcome! This idea would be a great challenge for a group … give them a shopping list, then instructions to make a set of blocks, then see if they can arrange them. THEN reveal a heap of different ways to use the designs.

      Judy B

      On 10 February 2016 at 22:29, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. Marie says:

    I never would have picked it. Shows you how observant I am. Never mind, I love this weeks selection. The colours are good too.

    Like

    • Marie,

      Not one person picked it, so you are not alone! My advantage was knowing what I was trying to do when I started.

      Judy B

      On 11 February 2016 at 06:13, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  3. cindythequilter says:

    I also would not have realized the block counts were the same. It always amazes me at how many designs you can make with the exact same blocks just rearranged.

    Like

    • Cindy,

      As I just replied to Marie, nobody got it, so you are not alone. It is so much fun finding different ways to put blocks together, and I am surprised that there are so many quilts made which are the same blocks in the same layouts.

      Judy B

      On 11 February 2016 at 13:07, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.