Annie Clover Quilted 1, 2, 3, 4

Annie Clover Quilted 1

I thought I would just share whole cloth designs …

Annie Clover Quilted 2

… then I thought again.

This project file has a mixture of pieced and applique designs for the quilt tops with their quilting designs, as well as some whole cloth designs just using the block designs as quilting motifs. Sometimes you will see the front and back of the same quilt, but I found I was forgetting to save the whole cloth version before I made changes sometimes.

Well, to be honest, almost every time! I was having too much fun.

Annie Clover Quilted 3

I have always liked seeing the backs of quilts to see how the quilted designs looked without the patchwork and applique.

Annie Clover Quilted 4

The last one is the same quilt top as the second, with the same quilting designs, but with a slight change in thread colours … I am not too sure which one I prefer, but think it might be the last one, with just a few of the stars in a stronger contrast thread.

I think the best idea is to use the background fabric from the quilt top on the back, and use the pieced and applique block designs as part of the marking for the whole cloth back.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Annie Clover Pieces, Pieced and Applique Quilt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Annie Clover Quilted 1, 2, 3, 4

  1. Sheril says:

    Your designs are lovely. Unfortunately this last set are too dark to see much of anything of the quilt. Only the light pink portions show up. Do I understand correctly that the light pink, plus any other color I am able to see are quilting threads? Or are they pieces? Am not clear on that.

    Thanks for all the lovely designs you create. You are right. We can design way more quilts than we could possibly make.

    Loved the log cabin variations.

    Like

    • Sheril,

      Yes, the faint lines are quilting threads. Unfortunately, all of our computer screens show lines and colours differently, and it is hard to find the right combination for everyone to see every combination I use clearly.

      Many quilters use the lines of the pieced and applique top as the basis of the quilting design, and I thought I would try taking it a step further and use the block designs as quilting designs for whole cloth quilts. I have always outlined certain pieces in the quilt top when quilting so the design is transferred to the back, sometimes ignoring some seam lines between two pieces of the same fabric which are there simply to make piecing easier.

      In my real quilts that outline is about an eighth of an inch outside the piece I want to emphasize, but that distortion is not obvious on the back. I just use the seam lines in virtual quilts … that saves me trying to move all the lines just a fraction which wouldn’t show up in this scale anyway. I am also moving away from piecing or appliqueing every block in real quilts, and using solid blocks, not solid fabrics but muted prints. so that there is room for the quilting to shine on the top of the quilt, instead of playing second fiddle to the colours and shapes of all pieced and applique blocks.

      Judy B

      On 23 January 2016 at 10:57, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. Laura says:

    Love seeing the quilting designs, Judy! Some of us are quite challenged when it comes to making decisions in quilting the top.

    Like

    • Laura,

      The quilting design was the part of making quilts which really got me hooked … adding a third dimension to a flat surface. I found early that the pieced and applique lines transferred an interesting version of the lines and shapes I had used on the front, and I have thought vaguely many times that it would be easy to design a whole cloth quilt using block designs. Marking the whole cloth would be so much easier using a pieced and/or applique top as part or even all of the marking … just add the whole cloth fabric as the backing/front before quilting. Two quilts for the price of one!

      Judy B

      On 23 January 2016 at 11:56, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Liked by 1 person

  3. cindythequilter says:

    I think I like the second one with the brighter thread to show more of the design. They are as usual beautiful and I know it is hard to show the thread as it would look on a real quilt because if you did it would probably overwhelm and look “messy”. I am not sure if that is the right word but in a real life whole cloth the thread would totally match the fabric (or very closely usually) and it would still show up because of the “hills and valleys” that show up around the lines. Unfortunately they don’t show up on a virtual quilt.

    Like

    • Cindy,

      Exactly! The valleys can be made to look a little deeper if we use darker thread, but even with perfectly matching thread the hills and valleys are what makes a quilt so appealing. I can’t do that on a flat surface with virtual quilts. I suspect that light backgrounds work better with a slight contrast lines on our screens that dark backgrounds as the contrast has to be stronger to show clearly … then it competes with the colours in the patchwork! Some of the designs I shared earlier just had black lines all over the virtual top … I think that took away the appeal of the quilting lines all together.

      If you can’t tell, I prefer my quilting, no matter how elaborate, to be subtle!

      Judy B

      On 24 January 2016 at 01:34, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.