Aunt Flo’s Patch 55

Aunt Flo's Patch 55

Love it.

Aunty Flo is remembered for her tatting, and I like using those low contrast blocks in this series … they could be replaced with tatted or crocheted motifs … or assorted doilies.

Now there’s a thought … I have doilies and I can do applique … there I was thinking all the linens could be just placed on a sheet or length of backing fabric, but some applique might be the perfect finishing touch.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Aunty Flos Patches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Aunt Flo’s Patch 55

  1. Cherie Lumsden says:

    have always loved this series – but, just noted the number 55- wow. Just shows what working in a series can do,

    Like

    • Cherie,

      I find that once I have a collection of blocks matched up to a collection of fabric the designs happen almost while I am not looking! I save a design after each minor change, then weed out some, but the weeding adds more than I delete because I make changes taking the design in a different direction.

      Now I am adding the quilting layer to more project files and they are going off in more directions! I win way more in EQ7 than I ever did with computer games.

      Judy B

      On 5 January 2016 at 04:18, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. cindythequilter says:

    Love the doily idea. I have some of my grandmother’s old ones. Would be a great way to preserve them and still show them off!

    Like

    • Cindy,

      I have a collection which I thought I would just arrange on a backing fabric … but now am thinking about adding at least a little bit of applique. Not too much, because I have enough linens to cover a queen size bed without applique.

      Judy B

      On 5 January 2016 at 10:42, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  3. Laura says:

    There is an Aunt Flo in our family, too, but not remembered for her creativity! Love this design!

    Like

    • Laura,

      We are the only ones in the extended family who have Aunty Flo … after Dad met Mum he used to talk about an aunt of Mum’s he had met to his foster parents and they wanted to know her name … he didn’t know and he said ‘Flo will do’ and it stuck. Everyone else called her Aunty Till … abbreviated from Matilda.

      Judy B

      On 5 January 2016 at 12:10, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.