Fig Jam 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5

Fig Jam 1

Why not draw some figs to make, maybe, a table topper. I don’t use table toppers very often, but when I do I put something on the middle of the table so I left it blank

Fig Jam 2

Most table toppers have something in the middle, so I drew a centre block. But then I noticed that someone was stealing the figs.

Fig Jam 3

The table topper became a wanted poster.

Fig Jam 4

Perhaps it would be a good idea to make the figs into jam … lots of it, because I like fig jam.

Fig Jam 5

Apparently my thief likes jam too!

Halloween is not something which was celebrated in Australia until the last few years … but I thought it would be an appropriate time to reveal the lengths I will go to just to design a virtual quilt!

The block designs have evolved over a period of ten years or more, and though I don’t think there are too many people in the world who would want to sleep under a quilt covered in fig jam, I think the blocks could be used in table runners, toppers, placemats, pot holders, or even a wall hanging for a person who loves figs.

PS. The thief also found his way into my virtual strawberry patch! Maybe that will be revealed someday!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Applique, Fig Jam and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fig Jam 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5

  1. Laura says:

    I really like that 4th quilt! What a cute harvest quilt!

    Like

    • Laura,

      Now why didn’t I think of that! Possibly because Thanksgiving hasn’t become a decorating theme, marketing ploy in Australia either … and our autumn/end of harvest is out of sync with the northern hemisphere.

      Judy B

      On 31 October 2015 at 13:27, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Liked by 1 person

  2. cindythequilter says:

    This was so much fun to read and look at. I think your thief is cute and what a great idea for adding a huge interest to the quilt. I have never had fig jam. Sounds interesting.

    Like

    • Cindy,

      The thief is finding his way around my block library and sneaking in anywhere he pleases, but he has a family to support so I let him scurry around at will!

      I grew up in a farm house which still has a fig tree growing at one corner. I used to pinch figs off the tree to eat fresh, Mum made jam, and later dried the figs. I live too far away to get back there to get the figs now but I now have cuttings from the tree in pots, and they look to be growing well. Maybe I will get enough fruit to make jam in a few years time … providing I don’t eat too may straight off the tree.

      Judy B

      On 1 November 2015 at 08:25, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.