A Whiter Shade of Pale 1 and 2

A Whiter Shade of Pale 1

When I made the mistake which lead to creating the ‘White On … ‘designs I had another thought … just how little contrast do you really need. In many designs you need contrast between light and dark for the design to be distinctive, However, that contrast doesn’t have to be stark, like the difference between black and white … designs can work just as well in shades of blue or pink, and the result is more restful.

So, in terms of contrast, how low can you go? Pretty low!

When I started the White On series I had a lot of Iron Lace designs which worked well in one colour, but also had some bowls of massed flowers. I just one colour, no contrast what so ever, the massed flowers was just a mass of white … so I saved them in another project file. I wanted to see if the flowers needed to be red, blue, orange and green, or could I pick flowers just from the almost white garden.

A Whiter Shade of Pale 2

The hardest part was finding pale fabrics with just a little contrast colour … a hint of pink, a touch of green etc.

I think I could live with a low contrast quilt on a bed … but I wouldn’t advise it if the bed is used by a child who likes playing in mud!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in A Whiter Shade of Pale and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Whiter Shade of Pale 1 and 2

  1. Laura says:

    These are very elegant, Judy! Love!

    Like

    • Laura,

      It is an interesting exercise … perhaps I should sort through the fabric in my stash to see what if I have collected lots of low contrast fabrics!

      Judy B

      On 7 September 2015 at 01:14, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Marie says:

    Beautiful, and I agree with Laura, very elegant. I love the outer borders. Just shows that we don’t have to have distinct colours in our quilts. Maybe it depends on the design.

    Like

Comments are closed.