Mexican Rose Quilt 4

EQ Mexican Rose 4

This series opened up a real big can of worms.

The Mexican Rose block is in the Electric Quilt library. A simple cross design with an attractive centre. I started playing with the design by tipping it on point to get some diagonal lines, then because a straight cross design doesn’t fill the block when twisted 45 degrees, I enlarged it to fill the block. I also got rid of the rose itself, and used just the centre as a block in its own right. I also deleted bits of the design to make some blocks which created borders … complete with corners. Then deleted more bits when I wanted some quilting designs.

When I thought I had reached the limit of possibilities with this block, I started looking for more cross designs. I found some more in the EQ library, some in My Library, and more in sketch books. I now have a rather large collection of designs to play with.

Then I wondered what would happen if I made the four spoke cross designs into eight spoke designs by mixing them up. If I disappear from view you will find me under a mountain of virtual block designs, and I am grateful that virtual blocks don’t take up a lot of room, otherwise we would be moving out to make room for them!

Now I am wondering if any of them would work in a wreath design.

I think I will go back to the sewing room in the real world for a while!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Mexican Rose Quilt, Modified EQ Blocks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mexican Rose Quilt 4

  1. I had to chuckle at the way you get lost in your wanderings through “what if I . . .” – I can really see what you mean! My library isn’t as extensive as yours, but I still lose huge chunks of time to tweaking and trimming and turning! Yes, sometimes it is safer to work on a real-life quilt! Can’t wait to see some of the rest of this series – it’s a very pretty block.

    Like

    • Liz,

      Mexican Rose is a pretty block, and I have used it as a starting point before, so some of the elements keep appearing in different settings. I am hoping that now I have spent time concentrating on this one block I will remember where those assorted bits came from when I see them elsewhere!

      It is nice to know I am not alone in the virtual ‘What if …’ world!

      The hardest part is keeping it organised so I can find what I did yesterday … as for last month …………

      Judy B

      On 3 September 2015 at 10:49, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. Oh Wow, Isn’t that the truth trying to keep things organized is soooo hard. It is so interesting how one move leads you on to the next in an amazing creative circle.

    Like

    • Cindy,

      I try to keep things organised … but every so often I create a massive stuff up, particularly in My Library! I spent an hour resorting blocks yesterday and I have promised myself I will not do that again. Not this week anyway!

      Judy B

      On 5 September 2015 at 23:39, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  3. Annie says:

    I really enjoy the way your mind works!

    Like

Comments are closed.