Old German Design 1

 

 

Old German Design 1

I love it … and so does the cat apparently.

Old German Design Block

The block above is called Old german Design in the Electric Quilt Block Library. Like my early drawings in EQ it needed a little bit of tidying up. The colours were not to my taste either, so I selected fabrics of my choice from the fabric library.

I thought it might make an interesting toy to play with, starting with rotating it 45 degrees, then I started leaving out bits, multiplying bits, looking for ways to make borders … doing what I love doing, exploring the possibilities. After finding about forty block designs it was time to start playing with quilt designs, so I pulled out a few assorted quilt layouts from my library, and then remembered that I might need some quilting designs to go with the blocks, and so every block was copied to a new block, and coloured with thread only.

Time to wake up the cat and lock it out of my play pen.

Old German Design 1b

I added four extra bits of colour, then lots of quilting.

A challenge for those who have Electric Quilt … find a block, make some modifications and design a quilt with it. Along the way you will learn lots about the drawing tools and libraries in EQ, and a lot about how to use colour, contrast and texture in a quilt.

I used to do this with pencil and paper, photocopying, tracing etc, sometimes starting with a block from a magazine, book or pattern, sometimes starting with a block I had drawn up myself. Those efforts didn’t look pretty, and certainly didn’t impress anybody except me unless I made it real … now I can do half a dozen designs in this project file over morning coffee.

PS … EQ doesn’t pay me to praise their product, I praise it because I love the program, and after starting with EQ5 and now using EQ7, I am still finding new ways to use the program. My EQ skills are still improving after all these years!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Quilt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Old German Design 1

  1. I love the way you can modify blocks in EQ. I like the changes you made to the Old German Block. I might have to take you up on your challenge but at my speed it will have to be when I have a day off as I am still learning all the benefits of EQ. (or else it will be a very very long morning coffee) LOL

    Like

    • Cindy,

      I like the sound of that long morning coffee!

      I have the freedom to spend time playing, and hopefully by sharing what I do it will encourage others to play when they do have time.

      Judy B

      On 15 August 2015 at 23:26, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.