Lovin’ Spoonful 15

Lovin'Spoonful 15

Love it!

I have pretty much always used the matching quilting thread all over a quilt top, so that the quilting adds texture. I have several quilts which need to be quilted, and they will probably get the same treatment … the treatment they were designed for. New projects are going to get different right from the start … background space for quilting will be included, and some of that background might even get a contrast thread on it, with matching thread used in the spaces which need a bit of boring fill-in quilting to even out the quilting a bit.

In the design above, I would cross hatch the background area where there are no quilting lines added.

By the way, did you know the best way to mark cross hatching, and any other straight line quilting for hand work is to use a good quality masking tape. Don’t leave the tape in place overnight, but you can reuse the tape until it stops sticking down properly.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Lovin' Spoonful and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lovin’ Spoonful 15

  1. cindythequilter says:

    The idea of using different colored thread for quilting is somewhat daunting. (for me at least) I think I would have to become much more proficient at quilting before I attempt that but it is definitely something to strive for. I have used the masking tape and it works great for straight lines!

    Like

    • Cindy,

      Try using just a slight contrast, then gradually increase the contrast with each project … though just adding the texture with matching thread is all that is required in many quilts.

      Judy B

      On 3 August 2015 at 01:14, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. cindythequilter says:

    Actually I use the painter’s tape rather than masking tape. I does not reuse as many times but definitely does not leave residue on the quilt top.

    Like

Comments are closed.