Nan’s Nine Patches 20

Nan's Nine Patches 20

I opened up this file yesterday to do some virtual quilting.

However, because most of the designs have pieced blocks in every available space, there was little room for extra quilting lines to be added amongst all the seam lines. That lead to me playing with the block designs to simplify some of them to leave room for quilting. I could have used some solid, plain squares, but that didn’t seem to work very well.

I spent a lot of my fist coffee break playing with one of the blocks, which eventually lead to the inner and outer borders of the design above. (This kept me occupied through lunch and afternoon tea breaks.)

I also managed to find just a little bit of space for some creative quilting on one of the other block designs. (It was a boring evening on TV.)

It is going to be a challenge to use only pieced block designs to create quilting designs as my first instinct is to add some applique designs, but I want to avoid that. Mind you, I might start another project file with the same fabrics, and the same blocks, and add some applique blocks to the mix.

PS. I have perfected an easy way to make ice coffee. Make a large cup of hot coffee on a wintery day, then get distracted by playing with quilt designs in Electric Quilt 7. Works every time!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Nan's Nine Patches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Nan’s Nine Patches 20

  1. birdnana14425 says:

    Love the look!!!

    Like

  2. Marie says:

    Gorgeous! Love the colours too. A lot of work tho’. (most quilts are!) You could always omit the alternate block and do the quilting design instead, if you like quilting that much. lol

    Like

    • Marie,

      I did try the plain blocks, but haven’t got around to trying applique on the plain blocks. I might have to rethink the plan to avoid applique style quilting designs in this series though!

      Judy B

      On 19 June 2015 at 07:08, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  3. cindythequilter says:

    I love this one lots. The colors are great!. The quilting lines add just the right touch.

    Like

    • Cindy,

      I rather like the colours, and pretty much everything else about this series, and the quilting will add a new dimension even in the flat world of virtual quilts.

      Judy B

      On 22 June 2015 at 23:29, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.