Black and Gold Log Cabin 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10

Black and Gold Log Cabin 6

This series is showing what a Log Cabin quilt might look like on the back.

Black and Gold Log Cabin 7

The Log Cabin blocks have been quilted in or near the ditch on the dark side, maybe almost all over, but sometimes a motif is used, usually on the light side of the block.

The design above even has some space left for some boring filler design, which always helps the motifs to stand out.

Black and Gold Log Cabin 8

I am still very much experimenting with quilting designs for Log Cabin quilts, particularly combining the fabric filled versions with the quilting lines … without one hiding the other.

Black and Gold Log Cabin 9

This series is a compromise … but to be honest, I think they would be great wholecloth quilts, and would be OK done with both regular quilting threads matching or contrasting with the fabric … or using heavy thread and bigger stitches.

Black and Gold Log Cabin 10

By the way, if you were wondering about what sort of time I had at the retreat last weekend … it was fun from start to finish. I even worked on some real quilts!

Real friends, real quilts … winning combination!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Black and Gold Log Cabin Quilts, Log Cabin Quilter's Mid Week Retreat, Log Cabin Quilts, Mid Week Retreat and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Black and Gold Log Cabin 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10

  1. Vicki W says:

    Oh this is so cool!

    Like

  2. Marie says:

    Log Cabin’s, it must have been Wednesday. I’ve had an unusual couple of days, I’ll fill you in at Port Hughes. As I am a minimalist quilter, I like the above quilts more as a wholecloth quilt. Beautiful designs I must admit even if you want to go to that level. I’m glad you enjoyed your Retreat weekend, I’m looking forward to mine in July as well. Where did the year go? All of a sudden it’s wow, a few weeks to go!

    Like

    • Marie,

      Thank you.

      Several of the company I kept at the weekend I will see again in a few weeks, including Joy, along with a growing list of others!

      Judy B

      On 4 June 2015 at 06:11, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  3. cindythequilter says:

    Really like the middle one! I can picture these as whole cloth on black with metallic threads in different colors. Wow would they pop.

    Like

    • Cindy,

      I have never tired metallic threads for much more than half a dozen stitches on a Christmas decoration, but it would be tempting to use it on a really nice black fabric.

      Judy B

      On 10 June 2015 at 01:14, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.