White onWhite Gold 6

White onWhite Gold 6

Love it.

I would quilt this very simply … outline the applique shapes about an eigth of an inch outside the edges so the applique pops up a little above tha background, with small cross hatching, thread matching the background. I would perhaps also use the background fabric on the back so I would have two quilts for the price of one … one with the understated applique, while the reverse would be a wholecloth.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Where to Quilt, White on ..., White on White Gold and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to White onWhite Gold 6

  1. averyclaire says:

    Love this one too ! Love the elegant simplicity of it.

    Like

    • Averyclaire,

      Thank you … I surprise myself with some of the more elegant designs I find, though I do try for simplicity, or the easy way to do intricate designs.

      Judy B

      On 24 May 2015 at 12:40, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. Jude says:

    Judy, I really think you should stitch in the ditch around all the applique first!!

    Like

    • Jude,

      LOL, I know you would, but not this chick! If anything I would do another line outside the close one!

      The books I read all said a quarter inch outside the shapes of both pieced and appliques pieces, but I like it closer, but not in the ditch. I like my quilting to show!

      Judy B

      Virtual Quilter https://virtualquilter.wordpress.com

      On 24 May 2015 at 18:57, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  3. birdnana14425 says:

    Love it…and your quilting idea….you definitely get me to look at things differently….Thank you…Hugs

    Like

    • Carol,

      Thank you.

      When I started quilting the quilting guidelines with most quilt patterns in magazines and in pattern packs were ‘Quilt as desired’, so I made up my own mind as I went. I tried the traditional quater inch from sdweamlines, but didn’t like it, tired in the ditch and hated it, then tried halfway between … loved it. The only quilt with the quarter inch line is one with thick thread and big stitches … like it that way!

      Judy B

      On 25 May 2015 at 00:28, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.