Dear, Dear, It’s Quilted 1, 2, 3 and 4

The series with the title of Dear, Dear, Dear started life as an alternative look at Dear Jane quilts … lots of small intricate blocks in a large sampler quilt. I wondered if using small blocks in a large quilt could create patterns similar to the larger blocks I used in other virtual quilt designs.

It worked … then I started playing more and more with the quilting layer in Electric Quilt 7. As part of that playing I started setting up a series of quilt layouts with two or three layers ready to use in future series. I set up a lot with 12 inch blocks … the size blocks I usually work with, both in real and virtual designs. Eventually I decided I should extend my skills at setting out and altering quilt and blocks sizes … including 6 inch blocks in large quilts … lots of blocks to play with on layer 1, lots of blocks to be quilted on layer 3.

Dear, Dear, It's Quilted 2

Yesterday I shared a virtual quilt from the Dear, Dear, Dear series … and then made a coffee, and played with a new project file, importing the Dear, Dear, Dear blocks and fabrics into a project file with large quilts and 6 inch blocks. This is the first time I have started a project file with a set of blocks direct from another project file, along with the fabrics with a blank quilt ready to fill with patterns on two layers.

By the time I had finished the coffee I had the first design above, after drawing the quilting design from one of the blocks. I introduced a few quilting designs from my library, and spent every coffee break yesterday drawing up more quilting patterns from the blocks … and playing with them to see if they worked.

Dear, Dear, It's Quilted 3

I now have a growing collection of quilting designs based on the blocks … and gave myself more room to play with the quilting layer by eliminating some most all of the pieced blocks.

Dear, Dear, It's Quilted 4

Just as well we had to go out last night … it gave me some extra time before bed to get the coffee out of my system so I could sleep!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Dear Dear Dear, Dear Dear It's Quilted, Design and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dear, Dear, It’s Quilted 1, 2, 3 and 4

  1. That last one…what a gorgeous wholecloth quilt that would be! Especially with some beadwork!

    Like

    • Laura,

      Now there is a challenge … adding virtual beads to my virtual patchwork, applique and quilting! The real thing would be rather nice though, and possibly easier to do! Would take a bit longer though!

      Judy B

      On 23 May 2015 at 13:34, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. cindythequilter says:

    Absolutely a wonderful wholecloth. I like the results of your coffee breaks!

    Like

    • Cindy,

      I enjoy the coffee breaks so much I often finish up drinking ice coffee even when i start with hot coffee!

      Judy B

      On 28 May 2015 at 02:45, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.