Log Cabin, Leaf Central 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5

Log Cabin, Leaf Central 1

Simple arrangement of blocks … with big central squares.

Log Cabin, Leaf Central 2

Add some leaves.

Log Cabin, Leaf Central 3

Twist and turn four blocks inside out.

Log Cabin, Leaf Central 4

Twist and turn eight more blocks

Log Cabin, Leaf Central 5

 

And so it goes … now, what will happen if I add a variety of background blocks … maybe just change the position of the colours … add more variety to the leaves …

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Leaf Central, Log Cabin, Log Cabin Quilter's Mid Week Retreat and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Log Cabin, Leaf Central 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5

  1. cindythequilter says:

    I absolutely love the last one! It is amazing what turning the blocks accomplishes

    Like

    • Cindy,

      I impressed myself when I started playing with this idea … and I don’t think the leaves are very special applique designs, but with some work will do nicely to show some of the possibilities. The leaves could also be quilted, or embroidered.

      Judy B

      On 29 April 2015 at 10:30, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. birdnana14425 says:

    very interesting…thanks for another lesson…gotta clear the ole brain to see out of the box…. Hugs

    Like

  3. I actually like all of the variations without the leaves. For me, they distract from the beauty of the gradient designs. I’d rather see quilting than applique enhance this particular series.

    Like

    • Laura,

      Quilting the designs is an option, along with embroidery, either simple outlines or much more elaborate machine … or anything in between. Not to mention some appliqued blocks … some plain. I must add some un-embellised blocks to the mix!

      Judy B

      On 29 April 2015 at 12:18, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  4. averyclaire says:

    I love the leaf patterns in these. Really pretty.

    Like

    • Averyclaire,

      Thank you … looking at the leaf shapes they are mostly northern hemisphere shapes, so I must add some native Australian shapes to the mix too!

      Judy B

      On 29 April 2015 at 22:21, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  5. Vicki W says:

    That would be a great way to use sun printed leaf fabrics.

    Like

  6. Marie says:

    I was debating about the leaf comment when I remembered the first Log Cabin quilt I made was a block of the month. The large background Log Cabin was completed first then the applique of different themes was sewn on afterwards. It was years ago, I don’t think it’s even available any more. The varieties you have created already are interesting.

    Like

    • Marie,

      I remember that … I must have been one of the few quilters around who didn’t make up that pattern … lovely design! Not as versatile as this variation on the theme as the applique was done on the light area when four blocks were placed together.

      Judy B

      Like

Comments are closed.