Black and Gold Log Cabin 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5

Black and Gold Log Cabin 1

Not too sure if this is the back of a Log Cabin quilt, or a whole cloth quilt using Log Cabin patterns!

I think the attraction of adding a third dimension to a quilt top is the most exciting part of making a quilt. Painters have to add many layers of paint to get real depth, or rely on their use of contrast to depict depth … quiltmakers can create a flat pice of fabric, add wadding and a backing fabric to make a practical, warm item, but then add the third dimension by quilting, at the same time adding a line drawing to the back of the quilt.

I love the idea that we can make a quilt which can look great on both sides, while still performing the same function of keeping people warm.

Black and Gold Log Cabin 2

If it is the back of a Log Cabin quilt, is there applique on the front? Or just applique like design in over the blocks.

Black and Gold Log Cabin 2a

What it might look like if the colours are reversed.

(Note the absence of quilting in the ditch. The seam lines appear on solid black, but I never quilt in the ditch.)

Black and Gold Log Cabin 3

Whatever design I put onto the quilt top dictates to a large degree what I use as a quilting design, so that the pieced and applique design appears on the back of the quilt as a line drawing.

Black and Gold Log Cabin 4

In blank spaces on the front I will add a motif, with filler to anchor any spaces between the outlines of pieces and the quilting motifs. A filler design should not be very interesting in itself … it’s function is to hold the layers together between the features we have added using piecing, applique and quilting. There might also be some embroidery and other added embellishments … the filler simply fills in gaps and gives a place for our eyes to rest between the more ornate parts of the design.

Black and Gold Log Cabin 5

This is how I might quilt a Log Cabin quilt top, emphasizing some of the logs, but adding motifs over the piecing, usually on the light area of the block.

My next trick should be adding the pieced front!

In the meantime, if you go back to these posts, I am still accepting comments for the giveaway of some PDF printable patterns and some EQ7 project files.

After Pompeii 41 … Virtual Quilt 5,000!

(please note that After Pompeii is not the giveaway)

9 Patch ‘n’ Apps Virtual Quilt 5001

Autumn Daze Virtual Quilt 5002

Posy Patch Virtual Quilt 5003

Aussie Animals Virtual Quilt 5004

Toys 4 U Virtual Quilt 5005

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Log Cabin Quilter's Mid Week Retreat, Mid Week Retreat and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Black and Gold Log Cabin 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5

  1. Never thought of it before but you’re right, we quilters get beauty on the front and the back!

    Like

    • Glynis,

      One of the best features of our craft! Of course, we can hide the quilting on the back by using a busy fabric, but I much prefer to use a plainish back to show off the quilting.

      Judy B

      On 22 April 2015 at 10:59, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. I hadn’t thought of it in terms of line drawings. Interesting post, Judy. I quilt in the ditch because I machine quilt on a domestic. Stitching in the ditch helps to stabilize the layers for me. I can also remove the basting pins, or at least some of them, and that removes some of the weight of the quilt, making free motion quilting easier for me.

    Like

    • Laura,

      What we need is a wadding which clings to fabric so it won’t budge during the quilting process, locking the two layers of fabric in place without tacking or pins. The best I have found is pure wool … but a long way short of what is required for machine quilting on a domestic. I hand quilt in hoop or on roller type full width frame when I have room for it, then machine some of the background areas in matching thread so it flattens the background.

      Judy B

      On 22 April 2015 at 11:36, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  3. cindythequilter says:

    This was post was really inspiring. Love the ideas and if you you colored threads on the bobbin you could get a really spectacular backing especially on black solid. Something to consider but would definitely have to take my time quilting as every wobble would show!

    Like

  4. Marie says:

    I thought I had the wrong day there for a minute, till I had a closer look. I love all the designs, but as whole quilts, no quilting lines. I think I feel that way because I am a minimalist quilter. But each to their own.

    Like

    • Marie,

      I will have to work on turning you into a less minimal quilter!

      To be perfectly honest, I think a lot of quilts are over quilted … particularly by log arm quilters. For the average quilt using a medium to high quality wadding we don’t need to quilt to the death. Quilters had to quilt densely thirty years ago, because the wadding was not bonded like they are now, and even then they were much better than a hundred years ago, when quilts had to be quilted to within an inch of their lives just to hold the wadding together … nothing to do with adding an extra layer to the design.

      Judy B

      On 23 April 2015 at 06:44, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.