Patch Play Quilted 1 and 2

Patch Play Quilted 1

This project file is a few months old … it got left on the shelf when I found more exciting things to virtually quilt.

Patch Play Quilted 2

The most exciting thing was playing with the colour of the virtual quilting thread … and with a few clicks of the mouse the black thread becomes gold, and blends into the quilt more like real quilting.

The applique would be outlined, about one eighth of an inch outside the edges … this makes the applique sit up from the background. The area which is still blank would need some quilting in a real quilt, and I would use a thread which matches the background exactly, and a design which is boring and repetitive. Something like stippling, small massed circles, smallish cross hatch, straight lines.

Every quilt needs some boring bits in the background to fill up the space, and if all it does is fill up the background the areas of patchwork, applique and the areas of formal quilt design can be the stars of the quilt.

Patch Play Quilted 3

Usually my first preference for a quilting pattern is something related to the quilt top design … so a few more clicks of the mouse and the featured quilting design is an echo of the outer border.

The outer border corners are themselves an echo of four blocks near the centre of the quilt.

Here is a confession … I am a hand quilter, but all that boring quilting I would conmsider doing by machine, unless I chose to do cross hatch.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Patch Play and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Patch Play Quilted 1 and 2

  1. birdnana14425 says:

    I enjoy hand quilting also. Depending on design if I would machine quilt it…. And how much time to sew it… LOL

    Like

    • Carol,

      I love hand quilting, while machine quilting is work … faster though, and doing the filler patterns by machine would hurry up the project. My current hand quilting project will get some machine filler when the hand work is done.

      Judy B

      On 21 April 2015 at 11:56, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. cindythequilter says:

    I loved hand quilting too and then got a midarm and I am losing the hand quilting. Just not doing it enough and want to do too many projects. I really think I need to slow down and enjoy the process more. I have to try to finish up the UFOs though before I can slow down. (Believe me there are waaaay toooo many to slow down at the moment.

    Like

    • Cindy,

      I find hand quilting slow, but the most relaxing activity I can think of. However, there is a limit, and doing the fill in patterns is it.

      Judy B

      On 21 April 2015 at 23:03, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.