White on Colour 2

White on Colour 2

I am considering the colour options to make a real White on quilt, and wondering if I could use a variety of whites, or should I stick with just one.

Plenty of time to think about it as there are some UFOs which I want to get out of the sewing room, and some other new projects to get underway … and finished … before a white on anything gets to the top of the list.

PS Still time to comment on yesterdays 6 virtual quilts and get something in return other than just a few words!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in White on ... and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to White on Colour 2

  1. A very striking design! Would you cut out the red from behind the white applique?

    Like

    • Laura,

      Very good question!

      Is there a fusible web which would ‘white’ out the background fabric? At least if it was fused there would be no shadow from the seam. For this sort of work we need some light fabrics which are not see through.

      Judy B

      On 18 April 2015 at 11:29, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. Marie says:

    I agree with Laura. Too many fine lines for my taste, but I like the designs. Very striking on a red background! Funny how most quilters seem to have UFO’s stashed away. I think I should finish my flannel shaggy quilt at the Retreat this year.

    Like

  3. sandra Collins says:

    Wow this is lovely but a lot of work & not sure if I could do this one but thanks for showing us all.
    Sandra Collins

    Like

    • Sandra,

      Thank you … this particular virtual quilt is probably a bit too complex, but they idea of using a very light fabric on a dark contrast is appealing, though i think I would like a softer contrast.

      On 19 April 2015 at 14:02, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  4. Glynis says:

    I always love the red and white ones.

    Like

Comments are closed.